Comelec to penalize Escudero for failure to submit Statement of Contributions and Expenditures

Contributed Photo
Contributed Photo

MANILA, 14Jun2013 (PNA) – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) will be imposing a fine on Senator-elect Francis Joseph Escudero for failure to meet the June 13 deadline to file his Statement of Contributions and Expenditures (SOCE) before the poll body.

Based on the record of the Comelec’s Law Department, the SOCE of Escudero was received at 9:30 am of June 14, 2103, one day late of the deadline set by the poll body.

Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. said it will be the commission en banc that will determine the amount of the administrative fine to be imposed to late filers.

The fine will range from P1,000 to P30,000.

“Discretion lang naman ‘yun depende sa length of delay and reason for the delay kasi baka naman may legitimate reason so baka natagalan. So pwedeng maliit lang,” he said.

However, Brillantes noted that the non-filing of SOCE might constitute the filing of an election offense.

On the other hand, three losing senatorial bets have yet to file their respective SOCEs.

They are Ana Teresia Hontiveros of the Liberal Party and Ang Kapatiran’s Rizalito David and Marwil Llasos.

The other elected senatorial bets who complied with last Thursday’s deadline were Paolo Benigno Aquino, IV, Maria Lourdes Nancy Binay, Mary Grace Poe, Cynthia Villar, Aquilino Martin Pimentel III, Antonio Trillanes IV, Lorna Regina Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano, Gregorio Honasan, Juan Edgardo Angara and Joseph Victor Ejercito.

Ejercito was initially included in the list of those who have not yet filed the SOCE.

But after a check at the Law Department showed the representative for the newly-elected senator was there to show the proof that they have sent Ejercito’s SOCE through registered mail on June 13.

The other senatorial bets who have complied before the deadline were Christian Seneres, Ramon Montano, Ramon Magsaysay, Jr., Juan Ponce Enrile, Jr., Samson Alcantara, John Carlos delos Reyes, Baldomero Falcone, Richard Gordon, Edward Hagedorn.

Also included in the list are Maria Ana Consuelo Madrigal, Greco Antonious Belgica, Margaria Cojuangco, Ernesto Maceda, Maria Milagros Magsaysay, Ricardo Penson, Eduardo Villaneuva, Teodoro Casino, and Juan Miguel Zubiri.

Brillantes meantime, reminded late filers to submit their SOCEs as they still have until June 30. (PNA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.