4 CamSur congressional winners proclaimed


By Samuel Toledo

LEGAZPI CITY (17-May-2103/PNA) – The provincial board of canvassers has proclaimed as winners newcomer lawyer Leni Robredo for the Third District and re-electionists Rolando Andaya Jr. for the First District, Diosdado Arroyo for the Second District and Salvio Fortuno for the Fifth District of Camarines Sur.

The board proclaimed Robredo and Andaya even as certain election returns in their respective districts had not been counted yet due to the very wide margins they had already posted against their closest opponents.

Robredo already garnered 123,843 votes as of 2 p.m. Thursday, while her strongest rival, Nelly Villafuerte, mother of outgoing Camarines Sur governor LRay Villafuerte, got 35,160 votes.

Andaya got 53,986 votes. His opponent, Nestor De Los Reyes, had 5,681 votes.

With 57,106 votes, Arroyo was already proclaimed winner before noon Thursday against his rival in the Second District congressional race, outgoing governor L-Ray Villafuerte, who had 49,346 votes.

This is Arroyo’s third term.

Re-electionist Fifth District Rep. Salvio Fortuno, who got 75,114 votes, was also proclaimed winner against veteran politician Felix Alfelor Jr., who had 42,241 votes.

While the Fuentebella camp claimed that its candidate, Wimpy,had won the Fourth District congressional race, Aga Muhlach was still leading as of 2 p.m. Thursday tabulation with 54,489 votes as against Wimpy’s 51,960 votes.

The provincial board of canvassers was still waiting for election returns from Siruma and Tigaon towns.(PNA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.