27 senatorial aspirants qualified to run in the 2013 – Comelec

Representative Teddy Casiño is mob by his supporters during the filling of Certificate of Candidacy in Comelec Manila last October 2, 2012. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO
Representative Teddy Casiño is mob by his supporters during the filling of Certificate of Candidacy in Comelec Manila last October 2, 2012. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

MANILA (13-Oct-2012/PNA) – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) qualified at least 27 senatorial aspirants, out of the 84 who filed their Certificates of Candidacy (COCs), to run in the 2013 mid-term polls.

In Resolution No. 9450, the poll body noted that the qualified candidates passed the requirements and serious in participating in the senatorial race.

“In such cases, it is respectfully submitted that aside from possessing all the qualifications and none of the disqualification under the Constitution and elections laws, the following, have beyond doubt, demonstrated bona fide intention of running for the position of Senator,” part of the 16-page resolution said.

Qualified to run included Ana Theresia N.
 Hontiveros of Akbayan; John Carlos G. De Los Reyes, Marwil N. Llasos, and Rizalito Y. David, all of Ang Kapatiran; Juan Edgardo M. Angara of Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino (Laban);
 Paolo Benigno A.
 Aquino IV, 
Maria Ana Consuelo A. Madrigal, and Ramon Magsaysay, Jr., all of Liberal Party; Teodoro A. Casiño of
 Nacionalista Party; Alan Peter S.
 Cayetano, Antonio F. Trillanes IV and Cynthia A. Villar, all of Makabayan;

Juan C. Ponce Jr. and Lorna Regina B. Legarda, both of Nationalist People’s Coalition; Aquilino Martin D. Pimentel III of PDP- LABAN; Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay, 
Margarita R. Conjuangco, Joseph Victor G. Ejercito, 
Richard J. Gordon,
 Gregorio B. Honasan,
 Ernesto M. Maceda,
 Maria Milagros Esperanza H.
 Magsaysay, and Juan Miguel F. 
Zubiri, all of United Nationalist Alliance (UNA).

The independent candidates included Francis Joseph G.
 Escudero, Mary Grace P.
 Llamanzares, Edward S.
 Hagedorn and Ramon E. Montaño.

Comelec spokesperson James Jimenez clarified that it was not yet the official list of candidates for the senatorial polls, noting that they were going to wait until the deadline of filing of substitutes, which is on Dec. 21.

“Dapat hintayin muna na natin ‘yung deadline of the filing substitutes baka kasi may mag-pullout pa dyan after December 21,” he said.

On the other hand, the poll body will be conducting two separate hearings for the 57 other aspirants, for them to justify the legitimacy of their candidacies.

The hearings were scheduled on Oct. 18 and 19, at 9 a.m.

The following were directed to attend the Oct. 18, 2012 at the Comelec session located at the 8th of the Palacio del Governador in Intramuros, Manila: Florentino F.Baguio; Rosario S. Bantolo; Aeric P.
 Bernardino; Leonardo C.
 Bula; Rafael M. Cabrera; Victorio Angelo A. Cadag; Patrocino A.
 Cailing; Elizabeth S. Capular; Catalino A. Dazo; Arsenio T.
 Dimaya; Juanito E. Donato; Anicio B. Escosura
; Manuel P.Espinosa;

Generoso J.
 Factor; Eduardo Syamasundar-Das P. Fernandez; Roque F. Garay;
 Byron Adriano D. Gorostiza; Benjamin S. Handumon, Jr.; Manuel E. Insigne; Edwin S. Jolongbayan; Luisong Tagean Lacan; Ed E. Salam Jr.; Merlito O. Lagata; Victor S.
 Lawag; Wendell H. Lope ; Daniel R. 
Magtira ; Severo L. 
Mascuenda, Jr.; Elena L. Mandap; and

Carlito P. Ning; Valeriano P. Nocon III 
; Richard L. Penson;
 Manuel A. Po; Marlon G. Rirao; Ericson Eli Felix B. Rojas; Pepito S. 
Salangsang; Rebecca C. Santosidad; Cosme Omie P. Soriano; Orlando G.
 Suerte; Nonato M. Sulibit; Alfonso, Jr. E. Talag;
Rogelio C. Tomol; and Ulyn E. Villamor.

The Comelec will be calling the following for a hearing on Oct. 19: Alma L.
 Abella, Melchor G. Chavez, Virgilio G.
 Gundayao, Oliver U.
 Lozano, Norma C.
 Nueva, Wenceslao P. Pancho,Jr., and Victor N.

 Wood, all of Kilusang Bagong Lipunan (KBL);

Greco Antonious Beda B. 
Belgica, Baldomero C. 
Falcone, and Christian M.

 Señeres, all of Democratic Party of the Philippines;

Samson S.

 Alcantara of the Social Justice Sopciety; and Independent candidates Leo M.
Cadion, Virgilio J. 
Galang,Remelyn T. Ajel,
 Francis Leo A.
 Marcos, and Johnny Chris H. Sy.

All the 84 aspirants had filed their respective COCs during the five-day filing period last Oct. 1 to 5. (PNA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.