Comelec bars 17 party-list groups from joining next year’s polls

Comelec Seal
Comelec Seal

MANILA (27-Sept-2012/PNA) – The Commission on Election (Comelec) has disqualified 17 groups from participating in the 2013 party list elections.

On top of the list was the Addicts and Alcoholics Carrying the Message Association (AACMA, INC), allegedly a group composed of drug addicts and alcoholics.

The group is among the 17 groups that were disqualified either by the Comelec’s First or Second Division and have not filed a motion for reconsideration (MR) before the en banc.

On the other hand, the groups that are disqualified at the division level may still appeal their case at the Comelec en banc

Aside from AACMA,Inc., also in the list are Aksyon Mahirap (AMIN); 1-AANGAT KA PILIPINO (1-AK); Isa Akong Magsasaka Foundation (1 AM); Asosasyon ng Mangangalakal (ASKAL); Aniban ng Magtutubig ng Pilipinas (Ama ng Pilipinas); Sararong Bicolnon; United Philippine Transport Tricycle, Trisikidad, Habal-Habal Operators and Drivers Association (UPTHODA); Aurora Integrated Multi-Purpose Cooperative (1-AIMCOOP); and Nagkaisang Alay sa Bayan ng Maka-DIyos at Makabayang Nangangalakal (1ABAYAN).

Also disqualified were Ako at ang Basura Movement (AKO BA); Alliance for Democracy and Morality – Bantay Pasahero (ADAM-BANTAY PASAHERO); National Crusaders for Peace and Democracy (NCPD); Mindanao Allied Forces (MAF); Vendors Aggruption (@1Vendors); Bangon Mangingisda (BM); and Philippine Banana Pioneer Foundation Inc.

Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes earlier said the Comelec would try to come out with the final list of disqualified party-list groups before the end of September and would be released in October.

A total of 289 party list groups have filed Manifestations of Intent to Participate in next year’s elections. (PNA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.