Sorsogon barangay politics: only 28 among 64 village chiefs take oath before Mayor Lee | BICOL TODAY

Sorsogon barangay politics: only 28 among 64 village chiefs take oath before Mayor Lee

Photo courtesy: Edgar Tumangan

By Bobot Estropigan Laguna, contributor

SORSOGON CITY – A total of 28 newly elected Punong Barangays out of 64 took their oath of office before City Mayor Sally Lee at the provincial gymnasium, Saturday, June 30, graced by the presence of Sen. Cynthia Villar, the mayor’s son Gov. Bobet Lee Rodrigueza and City Councilors Jun Jamisola, Maning Diolata, Melchor‘’Izu’’ Atutubo and DILG officer Roque delos Santos.

In her message, Mayor Lee said I have done my job and expressed optimism the city in three years time will be economically stable.

She said the city LGU is determined to alleviate poverty, will promote good governance, respect for others adding that her administration is participatory, walang iwanan (No one will be left behind).

She added there should be zero poverty so we won’t become mendicants.

She urged all to stand united amidst the moves of what she calls as manipulators out to sow intrigue and disunity.

She decried that instead of helping me, they want to oust me. She said I want to give dignity and life to our people as I have always been transparent and never have I resorted to instilling fear nor has prevented people from doing what they want to do.

Let’s be one, she adds, to make Sorsogon City a replicated city. My governance, she said, is empowering people to be independent and economically stable.

I have no money but I have in my heart wholehearted service to the people. Concluding her message, she urged all to be a part of the development of the City of Sorsogon.

City Vice Mayor Jonathan Balintong, meanwhile, emphasized that it is in the spirit of cooperation that he and Mayor Lee are together for a progressive Sorsogon City noting that the mayor is with the Liberal Party while he is with the PDP Laban, the administration’s party.

The vice mayor said Sorsoganons are not destined to be always asking for favors and just be contented with offers of candies.

For his part, Gov. Bobet Lee Rodrigueza spoke on the necessity of organizing the BADAC (Brgy Anti-Drug Abuse Committee).

On education, he said, from 200 college scholars during the administration of his father, former Gov. Raul Lee, he increased it to 2,000 on his first year in office and now 3, 000 poor but deserving college students.

On disaster preparedness, he said, he wants to relocate informal settlers now residing in danger zones and plans to build 500 housing units for the poor.

On Illegal drugs, the governor said Sorsogon Province has the most number of drug-free and drug-cleared barangays in the Bicol Region.

He also urged the village officials to help in environmental protection and prevention.

On Health services, Rodriqueza said the provincial government continues to conduct three to four times a week medical mission and on Tourism Development, he said there is, among others, the Buhatan River Cruise, the Rompeola (pier) now frequently visited by local and foreign tourists.

Let’s forget politics first and work hard for the progress of our community, the governor concluded.

Below is the list of Punong Barangays (PB) sworn in by Mayor Sally Lee.

  1. Balete  PB Ismael Coprado
  2. Bato PB Michelle Domens
  3. Buenavista PB Michael Doringo
  4. Gatbo PB Leslie Demdam
  5. Jamislagan PB Francisco Domens
  6. San Vicente PB Raymond Defeo
  7. San Jose PB Ricardo Brol
  8. Osiao PB Tito Dio
  9. San Juan PB Serapio Docog
  10. San Ramon PB Victor Detera
  11. San Roque Rolpo Dogillo

West District

  1. Macabog PB Ronaldo Laguidao
  2. Gimaloto PB Ricky Padua
  3. Penafrancia Lino Janoras
  4. Rizal PB Roland Antonio
  5. Salvacion Tita Desquitado
  6. San Isidro Elizabeth Dayod
  7. Tugos PB Arnelito Garces
  8. Capuy PB Mon Licup

East District

  1. Abuyog PB Jeoffrey Laguna Estidolla
  2. Balogo PB Melvin Hainto
  3. Burabod PB Cresilla Miras
  4. Salog PB Jekk Flores
  5. Sampaloc PB Boboy Larosa
  6. San Juan Roro PB Ruel Laresma
  7. Sulucan PB Rodolfo Jebulan
  8. Buhatan PB Edwin Divina
  9. Bibincahan PB Grace Hainto

Posted by on July 3, 2018. Filed under Bicol News,Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.